Baked Avocado Fries

Hey look at that… Passover is over!  You made it through, aren’t you proud?  Maybe you are like me and you don’t really keep kosher for Passover (that’s ok, I won’t tell) but maybe you DO and so getting through this is a real accomplishment.  I bet you want to celebrate with something breaded and delicious and not all that good for you.

Don’t worry, I have just the dish for you!  I came across this thanks to Pinterest, yes I am getting slowly pulled in but am avoiding full on obsession…so far.  It is from a fun blog called “Adventures in Cooking.”  I haven’t explored too much of it yet, but it looks like there is some really good stuff on there.  It takes avocado, already delicious, and makes it taste like it has been fried.  I can’t believe I hadn’t heard of this before!

Anyway, back to the stove.  Make these for a party, or yourself.  I won’t tell either way.

From “Adventures in Cooking” via Pinterest

Ingredients
2 avocados, cut into slices
1/4 cup flour
2 eggs, beaten
1 1/4 cup Panko bread crumbs
1 teaspoon salt
Cooking Spray
Olive Oil

Materials
Knife and cutting board
3 bowls
Baking sheet
Tin foil
Cooling rack

1. Preheat the oven to 450 and get all your ingredients ready! Cut your avocado and lay it out. Put the Panko, flour and eggs into bowls. Line the baking sheet with tinfoil (this saves on clean-up later) and put the cooling rack on top. Then, spray the cooling rack generously with the cooking spray.

2. Dip each avocado slice into the flour first, then the egg and then coat it with the Panko. Lay it out on the cooling rack.

3. Spray the top of the avocado slices with olive oil and sprinkle it with salt. (I’ll admit, I just used some more cooking spray because I didn’t have a good way to spray olive oil…)

4. Bake the slices at 450 for about 20 minutes, until they are golden brown and crunchy.

That’s it! Wasn’t that super easy? Eat these while they are warm, they don’t save all that well so make sure you have someone to share them with.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

