Meatloaf

Looking back at the recipes I’ve tackled so far, there is a definite “comfort food” theme.  I don’t think that is just what I’m drawn to, all of the recipes I’ve seen seem to show a real preference for family friendly food that you actually want to sit down and eat.  I’m fine with that!

Recently, I’ve been gravitating towards comfort foods more then ever and I suddenly found myself really wanting meatloaf.  How strange!  I haven’t had meatloaf in years, but I couldn’t get it out of my head.  Hm, but how can I get away with putting meatloaf on my blog?

Well, meatloaf was the very first dish that I ever made on my own.  My Mom taught it to me and carefully drilled me in how to make it because I took a trip down to my Godmother’s house.  I remember being so proud that I was able to cook it and get it on the table all by myself!  That gives it a special place in my heart as a family food as well as a comfort food and therefore delightfully fits into the blog!  Please enjoy.  Oh, and I’m sorry the picture is rotten.  It was late and we just wanted to eat so I didn’t try to get a glamor shot!

Thank you Mom!

Ingredients
1 lb ground beef (85% fat is the best)
1/4 cup of chopped onion (that is about half of a small onion)
1/3 cup rolled oats or breadcrumbs
28oz of diced tomatoes, drained
Salt and pepper
1/2 cup milk
1 tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce
* If you’d like, you can also add one envelope of spaghetti sauce mix or 1 cup of crushed croutons*

Materials
Large bowl
Measuring cups and spoons
Loaf pan or baking dish

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Dump everything together into the large bowl.  Mix it and mash it around until it is well combined.

3. Shape into a loaf and either put it in a baking dish or the loaf pan.  I like the loaf pan because I don’t have to worry about it falling apart.  However, you won’t get the great “color” you would if it just sat out in the dish.

 4. Bake for about 1 hour at 350 degrees.  You may have to drain off a little fat at the end of the cooking, that is ok!

BONUS!  We made sweet potato fries to go along with this recipe, and they were awesome.  Just cut up two sweet potatoes into your favorite fry shape.  Toss them with a little olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic salt and paprika. We baked them alongside the meatloaf at 350 degrees, but I bet they’d be a lot better at 450 degrees.  Give them a stir every now and then and start checking them after 20min.  They may take up to 40min to bake, but could be done sooner.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meatloaf

  1. Beth says:

    Mmmmmmm…I love how you used the diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce I usually use.

Leave a Reply

