Grilled Pizza

So, this post is a cop-out.  I’m so sorry.  It is embarrassingly early in my blogging “career” to do a barely related spin-off on my theme…but here it is.  You see, I have always been PLANNING to do a post on pizza.  After all, my husband is a born and bred Jersey Boy.  His major complaint with where we live now is the lack of good pizza-by-the-slice.  If he meets another person from New Jersey or New York it is the main topic of conversation.  So, even though it is not exactly related to my exploration of strictly Jewish food, it is incredibly appropriate for my relationship with him.

However, it is summer.  It is hot out and I’m just not enticed by the thought of spending hours in the kitchen.  What DOES pique my interest is our new grill though.  So, I thought, what could be better then doing grilled pizza?  I made it, my husband raved about it…then he found out I was going to put it on the blog.  “Um, honey” he said, with that really sweet yet skeptical tone, “Don’t you think this is a little bit of a stretch?”

Oh!  I was hurt. I pouted, I protested “But I’ve always MEANT to do pizza!” and reminded him how much he liked it.  “Yes” he answered slowly, “but the pizza has prosciutto on it.”

Ok…he has me there.  It really is hard to make a case for yourself when the pizza you are doing is really more of a flat-bread and one of the main ingredients is a pork product.  So, honey, I’m going to say it right out here on the internet, you were right.  This is not really a topical post.  But, it was just so darn tasty!  So, for those of you who are keeping score, just know that I am teaching you how to make a really good grilled pizza.  If you want to top it with what I did…great.  If not, hey, this would be good with just about anything on it.

PLEASE NOTE!  This recipe requires 24 hours in the refrigerator so it officially qualifies as a “plan ahead” meal.

From Cooking Light


Ingredients

Pizza Dough
2 cups and 2 tablespoons (or 10oz) of bread flour
1 cup of warm water
1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme
1 teaspoon chopped fresh oregano
1 garlic clove, crushed
2 1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast
1/8 teaspoon salt (kosher is best)

Cooking Spray
2 teaspoons cornmeal

Optional Topping
1 1/4 cups  fontina cheese (or whatever is your favorite!)
4 ounces thinly sliced prosciutto
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon lemon juice
3 cups baby arugula
4 lemon wedges

Equipment

Grill!
Measuring cups and spoons
Bowl and spoon or a stand mixer
Plastic Wrap
Baking sheets
Grill-Safe Spatula
Small bowl
Whisk

1. Measure the flour into your bowl.  Add 3/4 cup of warm water (to make sure you don’t kill the yeast, the water needs to be 100-110 degrees.  To me it feels just hot to the touch, but not too uncomfortable).  Then dump in the thyme, oregano and garlic.  Mix this until it is just combined.  If you are using the stand mixer, make sure to use your dough hook.

2. Cover and let stand for 20 minutes

3. Put the yeast in a small bowl and add the final 1/4 cup of warm water.  Mix this gently and let it sit for about 5 minutes until it gets all bubbly.

4. Add the yeast concoction and salt to the flour mixture. Stir or mix this on low speed in for 5 minutes until a soft dough forms.  Coat a bowl with cooking spray and dump the dough in.  Cover with plastic wrap and stick it in the fridge for 24 hours.

5. Ok!  It is the next day and it is almost dinner time.  Take the dough out and let it stand, covered, for about an hour until it is at room temperature.

6. Gently deflate the dough (a lot of times you are told to “punch” it down, but this defeats the purpose of that slow gentle rise!) and divide it into 4 equal portions.

7. Sprinkle cornmeal on the baking sheet(s).  Press each portion into a rough 7-inch circle and cover the whole thing with plastic wrap.  These are NOT going to look perfect.  As you can see, mine are all misshapen.  I promise, it will still taste good.  Also, just as a note, I found the dough a little sticky so you might need some flour for your hands.

8. Now, it is time to get the grill going!  Turn it on to medium-high heat and let it warm up.  Very, very carefully spray the grill surface with cooking spray.  The internet claims the flare-up will be minimal, and it is true that it was just a little one…but I don’t want anyone getting hurt!

9. Plop the dough on the grill with the cornmeal side up.  Grill it for about 3 minutes or until it is starting to get a little blistered.  Flip it over and do the same thing to the other side.

10. Take it off the grill and sprinkle your favorite cheese on top.  I didn’t use fontina, as the recipe advised, because I couldn’t find it.  I had a mozzarella and provolone mix and it was delicious.  I did plop the dough back on the grill for a few minutes so that it would melt more.

11.  At this point, my recipe diverges from being truly a post I can use on this site.  You can take the flatbread as is and dip it in hummus.  You can top it with your favorite pizza fixings. Or, you can follow where I went!

12. In a small bowl, whisk together the oil and lemon juice.  Add the arugula to the bowl and toss it gently so it is all coated.

13. Top each pizza with prosciutto, pepper and the arugula.  Serve this immediately with lemon wedges on the side! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grilled Pizza

  1. Jen says:

    On Man vs. Food in Providence they have one on Grilled Pizza….the owner of the place lets the dough sit in olive oil (not like drenched, just with lots) for 9 hours.

    I don’t know if I got that correct bc I read your post after watching…but I am sure you can look it up!

  2. Jen says:

    Oh, and not having Pizza-By-The-Slice is a sin….I agree with bro on that one

Leave a Reply

