Tu B’Shevat Granola

I really love Tu B’Shevat.  I’m not sure why.  Maybe it’s because my Dad had me out in the woods before I could walk.  Then again, it could be because I currently live in a concrete jungle and I go into nature withdrawal on a regular basis.

Regardless, it is one of those seemingly minor holidays that I look forward to now.  This year, my husband and I were sitting in the Tu B’Shevat service at the interfaith group we go to.  They had just been explaining about how you can celebrate the holiday by eating three different kinds of fruit (one with a hard outer shell, one with an inner pit and one you eat all of.  More details can be found at this page).  As you can imagine, my mind started to wander trying to figure out what I could possibly make that would incorporate all three types.

Took me a while to brainstorm, but I realized I had unintentionally been making the PERFECT Tu B’Shevat dish for years! I got so excited that I jumped in my seat, poked my husband and whispered “GRANOLA!”  Poor man had no clue what I was talking about.

You see, because it has almonds, walnuts, (dried) cranberries and raisins we’ve got one from each category.  I was a little skeptical on the cranberry having enough of an inner pit…but the internet backs me up that it qualifies.

This recipe is so easy, definitely the simplest I’ve put on this blog to date.  Not only is it a snap to make, and a delicious way to celebrate the holiday, it makes a great gift.  I wrapped it up in cellophane bags for the lovely ladies I work with.  Good way to start the new year!

Tu B’Shevat Granola

My wonderful Mom sent me this recipe

Ingredients

2 cups oatmeal (not instant!)
1/3 cup wheat germ or flax
1/4 cup slivered almonds
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
1/3 cup orange juice (any variety you prefer)
1/3 cup honey
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup dried fruit (use dried cranberries and raisins to make a true Tu B’Shevat granola!)
Pam (or oil)for the cookie sheet

Equipment

Bowl
Saucepan
Spatula
Cookie sheet

1. Preheat your oven to 300 degrees.

2. Mix the oatmeal, wheat germ, almonds and walnuts in a large bowl.

3. In your saucepan, heat the orange juice, honey and brown sugar until the sugar is melted.  This will only take a minute or two. Make sure you stir it so the sugar doesn’t burn!

4. Pour the OJ and sugar concoction over the oatmeal mixture and stir so everything is coated.

5. Add the vegetable oil and vanilla extract and mix

6. Spread the granola out on an oiled cookie sheet.  Bake for 10 minutes in the 300 degree oven.  Stir the granola then pop it in for another 10 minutes.

7. Put the granola into a bowl and add the dried fruit.  Stir everything together and enjoy!  Store this in an airtight container so it doesn’t get stale. 

See!  Wasn’t that so easy?  Trust me, it looks (and tastes) really impressive but takes about ten minutes to pull together.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tu B’Shevat Granola

  1. Beth says:

    *gasp* Must. Try. I didn’t know that you make granola!

  2. Pingback: Black Bean Salsa | A Shiksa Mrs. Learns to Cook

Leave a Reply

